Skip to content

Guest-blog at io9!

October 29, 2009

2009-10-29_1312

At long last, my post about trends in apocalyptic literature in up on io9, complete with a gorgeous chart by their graphic designer, Stephanie Fox.  (for comparison, that picture above’s what mine looked like.  excel basics only for me.)  Check it out!

Also, I’m going to try to get some more posts up about apocalyptic lit today and tomorrow.  This little blog’s been woefully neglected recently – I’m trying to get a job, etc. etc. the real world sucks!  In the meantime, check out this post and this post.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 5:32 pm

    Love the chart and analysis. Thanks!

  2. October 29, 2009 5:43 pm

    I’ve had this topic on my mind a lot lately. New games are coming out that I want to play, and they’re all epically post-apocalyptic. Most new movies I want to see and new books I want to read all follow this same trend. Even new TV shows I watch (FlashForward and Dollhouse) are gearing toward a catastrophic Apocalypse. I can’t seem to avoid the topic these days. And then I find the io9 post that links back here, and I just threw my hands up.

    Good stuff. I’m glad to have found it here. 🙂

  3. October 29, 2009 6:31 pm

    Got refered to by the io9 post; great article there!

    I’m just coming in a little late, so bear with my question: I’m curious as to the methidology used in determining how a piece gets counted. If there’s an earlier post to refer to, that would be a help. (I’m curious because when I did my master’s project I had to come up with a quantification system for that, and I’m always interested in ‘talking shop’ on points like this…)

    • phnuggle permalink*
      November 3, 2009 1:38 pm

      I added an explanation for how I made the list in the post here. I meant to do that before, so thanks for reminding me!

  4. Rhett permalink
    October 29, 2009 7:00 pm

    Chanda love, you are awesome!

    • phnuggle permalink*
      November 3, 2009 1:21 pm

      thx Rhett. I adore you!

  5. October 29, 2009 9:13 pm

    Wow, would never have thought that someone would write a thesis on the post-apocalypse. It’s one of my favorite genres, bar none. “Dizzily optimistic” might be the best way anyone’s put it. Which is strange because it shows a marked lack of optimism in the first place. Everyone secretly wants to clear the blackboard of their life, but they don’t want to do it alone and deal with the loss of face and potential financial disasters. So. The apocalypse. Everyone’s screwed just the same. You also secretly hope you’ll be the one not to die. The one to go from zero to hero in your story.

    Great blog!

  6. Seth permalink
    October 30, 2009 3:08 pm

    Wow. I saw your post on io9. Any chance that you will post your thesis? I know there would be a lot of people that really love to read your paper on such a fascinating subject. It would be a shame for all that hard work you put into it, just sit on shelf collecting dust.

    • phnuggle permalink*
      November 3, 2009 1:30 pm

      I’m working on perhaps putting up my thesis in its entirety, but for now I have my thesis presentation up here

  7. jacob permalink
    October 31, 2009 6:48 pm

    I have a similar request as Seth. I’m a disaster historian–I’m currently writing about two large-scale, urban disasters in the Progressive Era–and I’m always interested to read others’ work on the way people have imagined disaster. I tried email you, but the email you have on the about page bounces back. Might you email me at the address I’ve provided? Thanks!

  8. November 1, 2009 12:00 pm

    Really enjoyed your article up at i09 – many congratulations on getting posted. I’ve always been fascinated by apocolyptic stories and their aftermath and your research turned up some very interesting things. There’s so much, so many little parts, you could pick out and have entire dissertations on. Really great work!

  9. Mark permalink
    December 11, 2009 5:08 am

    Hi Chanda, I put this up on io9, but thought i’d follow up here anyway. Just wanted to say great work on the research. A qualitative undertaking like that takes a hell of a long time, so nice work.

    Coincidentally I just finished my thesis on post apocalypse also – though mine was a split theory/creative piece of work.

    I also want to say that another possible reason for the ambiguous end in apoclayptic fiction may be the rise of trauma literature after the 1980s. James Berger suggests in his book “After the End” that post apocalypse and trauma are similiar concepts. Both concepts involve the memory erasure of some apocalyptic event, instead we are left with signs and symbols that assist in a kind of “reading back” to the apocalyptic moment.

    In this sense, it’s possible to create stories in which the end is never actually revealed, for trauma is the study of the process of survival. As Cathy Caruth suggests, surviving trauma (much like surviving the apocalypse) is a crisis in itself.

    Let me know if you want to read my thesis – an easy 14 pages for the theory part. Nice to know that there are other post-apocalyptic fans out there.

Leave a Reply

